Dear Kathryn Bigelow: A Love Letter

Dear Kathryn Bigelow,

My heartfelt congratulations on becoming the first woman EVER to win the Oscar for Best Director! Your film, The Hurt Locker, was nothing less than a triumph of film making, with more heart and soul than Michael Bay could ever dream of.

It warms my heart to think that tonight I witnessed history in the making. The fact that, until tonight, no woman or African-American had won the Oscar for Best Director saddened me and filled me with shame. We claim to be so modern and highly evolved, and yet sexism and racism still exists, it’s just well hidden. Thank you for doing your part to show to the world that women are just as skilled at making movies as men.

When I first watched The Hurt Locker the fact that the film was directed by a woman didn’t even cross my mind. I watched that film and just went “Holy shit, that was amazing!” I was highly impressed. It was one of the most delicately and beautifully crafted tales of war that I have seen in the last decade. It was a character study, in the highest regard, and done so with such kinetic energy that I felt emotionally and physically exhausted by the time the credits rolled. Well done!

Take a bow, Kathryn Bigelow, you deserved it!

Respectfully yours,

Nathaniel Ochoa

2 comments on “Dear Kathryn Bigelow: A Love Letter

  1. Cheryl Ochoa says:

    What a great way to respond to the historical moment: a love letter to Kathryn Bigelow! I wouldn’t have appreciated that moment had I not watched The Academy Awards with my savvy film critique son! Thank you for expanding my horizons in countless ways..we live in a big world and my filters of how I perceive this world have grown as my adult sons have grown!

  2. Awwwwwwwwwwww! Thanks mumsy!

Leave a Reply

