My reasons for living… Inspired by Woody Allen.

I was watching “Manhattan” (my favorite Woody Allen film of all time!) not too long ago and it got me thinking (oh that Woody, him and his making you think about things! Ha!). There is a scene in the movie where Woody’s character is sitting with his tape recorder, alone in his apartment, and he begins to dictate a list of his reasons for living. On the list is Frank Sinatra, the Knicks, and Louis Armstrong’s “Potato Head Blues,” among other things. This got me thinking: What are my reasons for living? Inspired, I grabbed my trusty notepad and wrote them all down. Here is what I came up with:

Chocolate

Batman

First kisses

Tom Waits singing “Invitation to the Blues”

Martin Scorsese films

The theme song to “Firefly”

Dean Martin singing and being an all-around classy guy

The poetry of T. S. Eliot

Ken Kesey’s “One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest”

Jack Kerouac’s description of the open road

Neil Young’s “Old Man”

Peaches

Ice cream on hot days

Hot chocolate on cold nights

My mother telling me that everything is going to be alright

Woody Allen movies

Steve Martin in the 70s

Bill Hicks

Bill Murray’s sad face

Jeff Daniel’s beard in “The Squid and the Whale”

The soundtrack to “Rushmore” (my favorite film of all time!)

Seth Rogen’s laugh (he sounds like a teddy bear)

Dark beer

Seinfeld marathons

Drinking coffee on rainy afternoons

Reading books late at night when it feels like you are the only one in the world still awake and all is wonderful and your thoughts are clear

Ruby red grapefruit juice

Mitch Hedberg’s jokes (rest in peace, my friend)

Well there you have it. My list. It’s a work in progress of course because I’m not dead yet. I’m still learning to appreciate new things as my life skips merrily along. Life is good.

What does your list look like?

Leave a Reply

