My first day of school (tales from my final semester)

Today marked the first day of my final semester here at jolly ol’ HSU, a place that I have come to know and love since I breezed into town in the Summer of 2007. Man, time flies when you’re having fun/studying/drinking/sleeping/working!

For the last year and a half I’ve been taking 21 unit semesters, which has caused havoc on my mental health, let me tell you! So now, as my final act as a Senior and a College Student, I have decided that I owe it to myself to RELAX AND TAKE IT EASY. My final semester includes the following classes: Latin Dance, Pilates (!), KRFH, math, and Human Genetics. Yep. 9 units. I finally have some Free Time for which to read books that I’ve been dying to read for years but haven’t had the time to do so. Until now. Spring 2010 = Best semester EVER!

Okay, so let’s talk about Latin Dance, shall we? I can already tell that I’m going to love it for several reasons. First, I love to dance, and second, the girls outnumber the boys 3 to 1. Those are my kind of odds!

After the dance seesion ended my pilates instructor Lisa strutted into the room (dance and pilates take place in the same classroom, within ten minutes of each other, which makes my Tuesdays and Thursday days of greatness) and we smiled and said hello to each other. Yeah, I have a bit of a crush on my pilates instructor, what can I say?

As it turns out I was the only returning pilates student in the class, which Lisa found to be hilarious, and joked about how she was going to “pick on me” by having me demonstrate to the class How Pilates Are Done Properly. Oh joy.

After class I gather my things and strolled leisurely over to where my car was parked. On the way to my car I bumped into Everyone Who Was Anyone here at HSU (my friends Steven, Max, Tiffanie, Anthony, Grant, and Meagan) all within 5 minutes of each other. We exchanged hugs and all that friend stuff and I booked it back to my car. What a perfect way to start school!

Okay, I’m starving now. It’s 2:30pm and I haven’t eaten lunch yet. For lunch: peanute butter and jelly sandwich, chips, and some peach-mango juice, which I plan on eating while laughing to last week’s SNL that I missed because I was out drinking on Saturday night, instead of at home in front of my telly.

Until next time.

2 comments on “My first day of school (tales from my final semester)

  1. Cheryl Ochoa says:

    What a great 1st day of a low-stress/frantic-free semester!
    Savor every minute!
    By the way, I got to hear it first, cuz I’m his mom!
    Thanks, Nathaniel…I love your writing! It captivates me every time!

  2. I love my last semester!

    My writing “captivates” you, eh? Well well well, that’s quite a compliment! I humbly accept your praise 🙂

Leave a Reply

